Washington Mortgage School

Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete

As your partner in Mortgage Education in Washington, Praedo is approved by the NMLS to provide online Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) pre-licensing education and continuing education courses. Praedo also offers online exam prep courses for MLOs. Praedo provides all of the online MLO courses you’ll ever need for your career in the mortgage industry. Use the Mortgage Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more.

Washington Mortgage Classes Online

Washington State Requirements For:

Mortgage Course Finder
List All
Choose your state
Choose your course type

Washington Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator Requirements

What does Washington State Department of Financial Institutions require to become a Mortgage Loan Originator?
  1. Set up an account with the NMLS
    All Mortgage Loan Originator applicants must create an account with the NMLS. All course completion information will pass through this system. NMLS
  2. Pre-Licensing Education
    Federal Law and Washington State Department of Financial Institutions require new MLOs to complete 22 hours of Mortgage Loan Originator pre-licensure education.Federal Law and Washington State Department of Financial Institutions require new MLOs to complete 22 hours of Mortgage Loan Originator pre-licensure education. This education includes:
    • 3 hours of Federal Law
    • 3 hours of Ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues)
    • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
    • 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives)
    • 4 hours of Washington state law
    • After your required education courses are completed, it will post to the NMLS
  3. Examination
    Once your courses are completed and posted to the NMLS, you can take your exam. You must pass the National Test with the stand-alone Uniform State Test (UST). Praedo offers MLO exam preparation courses to help prepare you.
  4. Application Process
    Once your courses and exam is completed, and posted to the NMLS, you can then take the steps to apply for your MLO license in Washington state.
    • Submit your application fee of $155, including the $30 NMLS System Fee through the NMLS.
    • Submit your fingerprints through the NMLS system. Find out how to schedule your fingerprint appointment here.
    • Submit a credit report through the NMLS (a $15 fee).
  5. Renew Each Year
    Each MLO licensee is required to renew their license each calendar year. The renewal period opens November 1st. The deadline to submit a renewal is December 15th.

Praedo is a licensed and approved school by Washington's Department of Licensing and is NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!

Federal 22hr Course

4hr WA Mortgage Law

Washington Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements

What is the Federal Law and state of Washington’s requirements to renew a license for Mortgage Loan Originators?
  1. Every Washington licensed MLO is required to complete a total of 9 NMLS approved Continuing Education (CE) hours annually.
    This education includes:
    • 3 hours of Federal Law
    • 2 hours of Ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues)
    • 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
    • One additional hour of elective
    • And one hour of Washington law.
MLOs who have completed Pre-licensure Education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved, are not required to complete CE.

Praedo is a licensed and approved school by Washington's Department of Licensing and is NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!

WA CE Course

WA Mortgage CE Courses Explained