Utah Mortgage School
Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete
As your partner in Mortgage Education in Utah, Praedo is approved by NMLS to provide both live and online mortgage pre-licensing education and continuing education courses for Mortgage Loan Originators and Principal Lending Managers (PLM) or Associate Lending Managers (ALM). Praedo also provides exam prep courses. Praedo provides all of the courses you'll ever need for your career in the mortgage industry. Use the Mortgage Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more.
- Late CE
- Mortgage 101
- SAFE Exam Prep
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
- Create your personal record in NMLS. Reference NMLS Quick Guides.
You will provide your NMLS identifier number to your course providers.
Your NMLS identifier will also allow you to schedule your exams after completing your required education.
- Between the Federal Law and Utah's Division of Real Estate requirements, new Mortgage Loan Originators (MLOs) must complete 35 total hours of pre-licensing education.
20 of these hours include NMLS-approved hours as outlined by The Federal Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act). As part of the 20 hours of NMLS-approved education, MLOs must recieve 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives).
The remaining 15 hours include educational requirements to be completed by a Utah Division of Real Estate approved pre-licensing provider.
- Education hours required for MLOs include: mortgage principles, mortgage loan origination, Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA), Homeowner's Protection Act (HPA), Truth in Lending Act (TILA), Privacy laws, Fair lending laws, Loan process and underwriting.
- Federal law and Utah's Division of Real Estate requires that:
You must pass the NMLS national exam, including the Uniform State Test (UST) component.
You must also pass the NMLS Utah state exam.
- Complete the MU4 Form (Individual Record) in NMLS. This is your application for licensure. The company you are affiliating with will need to sponsor you for an approved (active) license. If you do not have a sponsor, your license will be in an inactive status until you have an employer sponsorship.
- Pay all licensing fees as assessed in NMLS.
- After requesting the license through NMLS, a copy of the certificate for completing the 15-hour Utah prelicensing course to the Division.
- In addition to the pre-license education, continuing education in Utah is also required annually by the Division of Real Estate.
- Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency.
No felonies in the last five years OR misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
- Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
- Every licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete a total of 10 continuing education hours annually; which includes 8 hours of NMLS-approved education and 2 Utah-approved specific hours.
8 of these hours include the SAFE Act requirements for state-licensed MLOs and include: 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one additional hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective).
The 2 remaining hours required annually are outlined by Utah's DRE and include an annual update course.
- MLOs who have completed pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved, are not required to complete CE.
UT MLO CE Courses
- Within the past five years, three years active full time licensed lending experience.
45 points from originating first lien residential mortgages, OR a minimum of two years active full time lending experience with additional equivalency experience and 45 points, 30 of which must be from originating first lien residential mortgages.
- Submit to and pass a criminal background and fingerprint check.
- Successfully complete 40 hours of Utah DRE Lending Manager pre-licensing education.
- Successfully pass the Lending Manager examination approved by the commission.