Texas Mortgage School

Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete

As your partner in Mortgage Education in Texas, Praedo is approved by NMLSto provide online MLO pre-licensing education and continuing education courses. Praedo also offers online exam prep courses. Praedo provides all of the online MLO courses you’ll ever need for your career in the mortgage industry. Use the Mortgage Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more.

Mortgage Course Finder
List All
Choose your state
Choose your course type

Texas Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator Requirements

What does the state of Texas require to become a Mortgage Loan Originator?
  1. Texas has two agencies that handle the licensing of MLOs - the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending and the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner. Federal law and Texas require new MLOs, (or MLOs in an unapproved status), to complete the
    Mortgage Loan Originator SAFE Comprehensive Course pre-licensure education.
    • This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus 12 hours of undefined education (electives). In addition to this, anyone licensed through the SML is required to take an additional 3 hours of Texas-specific education.
  2. The SAFE Act requires that each MLO applicant submit a set of fingerprints through NMLS.
  3. The application fee is $355 for the OCCC and $340 for the SML. If you haven’t already taken care of your background check and credit report, those fees are $15 and $36.25 respectively.
  4. Federal law and the two Texas agencies require that you pass the NMLS national exam, including the Uniform State Test (UST) component.
  5. Mortgage Loan Originators must complete 8 hours of approved continuing education (CE) annually.
  6. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.
  7. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.
  8. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!

Federal 20hr Course

3 Hour TX SAFE

23 Hour TX SAFE

Texas Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements

What are the state of Texas’s requirements to renew a license for Mortgage Loan Originators?

Every licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete a total of 8 NMLS-approved continuing education (CE) hours annually. This includes 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). MLOs who have completed pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved are not required to complete CE. These CE requirements are the same for both agencies.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!
8 hour SAFE Course

TX Mortgage CE Courses Explained