New Mexico Mortgage School

Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete

As your partner in Mortgage Education in New Mexico, Praedo is approved by NMLS to provide online MLO pre-licensing education and continuing education courses. Praedo also offers online exam prep courses. Praedo provides all of the online MLO courses you’ll ever need for your career in the mortgage industry. Use the Mortgage Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more.

New Mexico Real Estate Classes Online

New Mexico Requirements For:

Mortgage Course Finder
List All
Choose your state
Choose your course type

New Mexico Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator Requirements

What does the state of New Mexico require to become a Mortgage Loan Originator?
  1. Federal law and the New Mexico Financial Institutions Division require new MLOs, (or MLOs in an unapproved status), to complete the 20 hour Mortgage Loan Originator SAFE
    Comprehensive Course pre-licensure education.
    • This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 3 hours of New Mexico-specific education, plus 9 hours of undefined education (electives).
  2. The SAFE Act requires that each MLO applicant submit a set of fingerprints through NMLS.
  3. The application fee is $430. If you haven’t already taken care of your background check and credit report, those fees are $15 and $36.25 respectively.
  4. Federal law and the New Mexico Financial Institutions Division require that you pass the NMLS national exam, including the Uniform State Test (UST) component.
  5. Mortgage Loan Originators must complete 8 hours of approved continuing education (CE) annually.
  6. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.
  7. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.
  8. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!

Federal 20hr Course

3 Hour NM SAFE

New Mexico Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements

What are the state of New Mexico’s requirements to renew a license for Mortgage Loan Originators?

Every licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete a total of 8 NMLS-approved continuing education (CE) hours annually. This includes 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), and 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, plus one hour of New Mexico-specific education (referred to as an elective). MLOs who have completed pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved are not required to complete CE.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!
8 hour CE Course

NM Mortgage CE Courses Explained