Michigan Real Estate Appraisal School
Wondering how to become an appraiser?
As your partner in Appraisal Education in Michigan, OnCourse Learning is an Michigan real estate appraisal school, approved by the Michigan Real Estate Appraisers Board to provide appraisal licensing and continuing education courses for real estate appraisal agents. OnCourse Learning provides all of the live and online appraiser license courses you will ever need for your career in real estate appraisal.
Browse online appraisal courses below to find the class that is right for you!
Michigan Appraisal New License Requirements
There are four levels of licensure for real estate appraisers in the state of Michigan:
- Limited Real Estate Appraiser
- State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
- Certified Residential Appraiser
- Certified General Appraiser
The following minimum requirements must be met for all levels:
- Must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED
- Must be of good moral character
- Licensed and certified levels require passing score on state exam
- Must submit application and pay associated fees
To start your career as a limited appraiser trainee, you must complete 75 hours of educational credits. OnCourse Learning has the perfect course package to give you a leg up in your trainee requirements. Containing all three mandatory courses, the Michigan 75-Hour Real Property Appraiser Trainee Package also includes a USPAP Manual eBook. With instructor led courses and material that focuses on industry best practices, this package will provide everything you’ll ever need to begin a career in real estate appraisal.
Michigan Appraisal Upgrade License Requirements
Are you ready to advance in your career to the state licensed level? OnCourse Learning has everything you need! You’ll find all 4 mandatory classes to meet your additional 75 hour credit requirement on the Michigan Appraiser Upgrade License database. Additionally, you’ll need to complete 2000 experience hours (including 1500 of residential appraisals) in no less than 12 months. If you’re interested in advancing from licensed to certified, you must meet the following higher education requirements:
- For Certified Residential level: A minimum of an Associate’s Degree OR 21 college semester hours in specific subject matters
- For Certified General level: A minimum of a Bachelor’s Degree OR 30 college semester hours in specific subject matters
The Certified Residential level also requires and additional 50 hours of educational credits plus 2500 experience hours (including 1500 of residential appraisals) within in no less than 24 months. For the Certified General level, you’ll need 100 additional educational hours plus 3000 experience hours (including 1500 of non-residential appraisals) within no less than 30 months.
Michigan Appraisal Continuing Education Requirements
Michigan real estate appraisal licenses expire biennially on July 31st. Limited Real Estate Appraisers must complete 14 hours of continuing education during the renewal period, while licensed and certified appraisers must complete 28 hours. Every appraiser must complete the 7 hours USPAP Update during the renewal period and a 2 hour course on Michigan appraiser licensing law and rules must be completed every two years. To simplify your renewal process, OnCourse Learning provides a wide variety of continuing education courses, including multi course packages and USPAP Updates. For professional and educational resources, you can count on the real estate appraiser experts of OnCourse Learning.