Colorado Mortgage School

Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete

As your partner in Mortgage Education in Colorado, Praedo isapproved by NMLS to provide online MLO pre-licensing education and continuing education courses. Praedo also offers online exam prep courses. Praedo provides all of the online MLO courses you’ll ever need for your career in the mortgage industry. Use the Mortgage Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more.

Colorado Real Estate Classes Online

Colorado Requirements For:

Mortgage Course Finder
List All
Choose your state
Choose your course type

Colorado Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator Requirements

What does the state of Colorado require to become a Mortgage Loan Originator?
  1. Federal law and the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies require new MLOs, (or MLOs in an unapproved status), to complete the 20 hour Mortgage Loan Originator SAFE
    Comprehensive Course pre-licensure education.
    • This education includes 3 hours of Federal law, 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 2 hours of Colorado-specific education, plus 10 hours of undefined education (electives).
  2. The SAFE Act requires that each MLO applicant submit a set of fingerprints through NMLS.
  3. The application fee is $108. If you haven’t already taken care of your background check and credit report, those fees are $15 and $36.25 respectively. The NMLS processing fee is $30.
  4. Federal law and the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies require that you must pass the NMLS national exam, including the Uniform State Test (UST) component.
  5. Mortgage Loan Originators must complete 10 hours of approved continuing education (CE) annually.
  6. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.
  7. Applicants are required to authorize NMLS to obtain a credit report.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!

Federal 20hr Course

2 Hour CO SAFE

Colorado Mortgage Loan Originator Continuing Education Requirements

What are the state of Colorado’s requirements to renew a license for Mortgage Loan Originators?

Every licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete a total of 8 NMLS-approved continuing education (CE) hours annually. This includes 3 hours of Federal law, 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues), 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending, 2 hours of Colorado-specific education, and 1 hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective). MLOs who have completed pre-licensure education (PE) course requirements in the same year in which the license was approved are not required to complete CE.

Praedo is a licensed and NMLS-approved!

REGISTER NOW!
8 hour SAFE Course

CO Mortgage CE Courses Explained