Alaska Online Real Estate CE School
Cost Effective. Convenient. Complete
As your partner in Real Estate education in Alaska, Praedo is approved by the Alaska Real Estate Commission to provide real estate broker (formerly known as real estate salesperson) Continuing Education courses for real estate brokers. Praedo provides the online courses you'll need for your on-going career in real estate. Use the Real Estate Course Finder to find the class that’s right for you, or explore to learn more about Praedo.
Location, Location, Location
Location is a key ingredient in buying a home that fits your needs, vision, lifestyle and commute. Read Full Article
Real Estate Tips for Sellers
First impressions are a vital part of selling a home. If the outside isn’t up to par, potential buyers are more apt to skip over your home without seeing what your home has to offer inside and out. Read Full Article
An applicant wishing to become a licensed salesperson must be at least 19 years of age and work for a licensed broker.
- Required Education
Real estate brokers are required to complete 40 classroom hours of approved pre-licensing education.
- Take the appropriate exam
- Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam
- Pay the appropriate fees
- Not be under indictment for a felony or other crime that in, in the judgement of the Commission, affects the individual's ability to practice as a real estate salesperson completely and safely or under indictment for forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud creditors, or fraud.
If convicted of a felony, forgery, theft, extortion, conspiracy to defraud creditors, fraud or other crimes that in, in the judgement of the Commission, affects the individual's ability to practice as a real estate salesperson competently and safely, a license will not be granted. Before an application for a real estate license will be considered seven years must have lapsed since the individual completed the sentence that was imposed upon conviction.
- An applicant wishing to become a licensed broker must complete 30 classroom hours of approved broker training.
- A person must have completed 36 consecutive months within the last 60 months as a real estate licensee, and real estate must have been his/her principal occupation; he must either own a real estate business or work as the broker for a corporation or partnership.
- A corporation or partnership can have only one broker in charge. If a second person, meeting the qualifications of a broker, holds an ownership position or is employed by the company, that person is considered an associate broker.
- If a broker no longer meets the conditions of ownership or corporate employment, his/her broker license is suspended until such time as that status is resumed; alternatively, he/she may become an associate broker in another broker's office.
- A person who has been convicted of a felony of one of the types listed above may not be granted a brokers license until seven years after the complete sentence has been served.
- Meet appropriate education requirements.
- Pay the appropriate fees.
- Pass the appropriate exam
- Apply for licensure within six months after passing the exam.
- Obtain and maintain E&O insurance.
- Not be under indictment for conspiracy to defraud, or fraud.
Salesperson or Associate Broker License CE Requirements:
All Real Estate Licenses expire on January 31 of even-numbered years regardless of when first issued, except new licenses issued within 90 days of the expiration date will be issued to the next biennium.
Licensees who receive their original license within 12 months of the expiration date pay the full license fee and then at their first renewal pay a prorated renewal fee (half of the current license fee).
You must renew your license on or before the expiration date to continue practice in Alaska. There is no grace period to practice on a lapsed license. Renewal forms will be mailed at least 60 days before the expiration date to the last address you provided to the board. You must report all new addresses to the Board in writing.
Before a license can be renewed, real estate licensees must complete the following for maintaining continuing competency (Article 8 of 12 AAC).
- 2018-2020 DCE Topics (current licensing period) »
- 2018-2020 DCE Guidelines
- 2016-2018 Designated Course Topics (previous licensing period)
- 2016-2018 DCE Guidelines
SEE ALL CE COURSES!
Post Licensing Requirements:
Effective February 1, 2008 all new licensees are required to complete 30 hours of post-licensing education pursuant to 12AAC 64.064. This education is in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education that you will be required to complete prior to license renewal.
All post-licensing education must be completed within one-year of initial licensure. Licensees are required to submit form number 08-4326 “Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education” to the Commission along with proof of completion of post-licensing education within 30 days after the end of the one year period [AS 08.88.095(c)].
The deadlines for completion of post-licensing education and submitting the Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education will be listed on the individual’s license. If a licensee fails to complete the post licensing education (PLE) required within the one year period and provide the proof of certification, the license automatically lapses 30 days after the end of the one year period and the licensee would be required to reinstate their license (to include a reinstatement fee)
The Affidavit of Post-Licensing Education can be viewed by clicking on the below link. The form has been optimized so that the licensee can type in the form fields and print the completed document.
To view post-licensing education requirements, please select on the link that is reflective of your license type.
SEE ALL CE COURSES!